Question About Link Farms, and Similar Sites

ndtlevel3

Hello, I am new here, and would like to introduce myself before I rant. I am a NDT Level III technician, who owns a web site. NDT is nondestructive testing, which means my carreer is testing material without destroying it. This is testing methods such as radiography, ultrasonics, magnetic particle, liquid penetrant, etc. I won't post a link to my site because I don't want any of you to think I am a spammer. But if you go to google and do a search for NDT Level III, my site will be the first one that pops up.

Of course, I have problems with spammers, and would like to learn how to help control them here. I have been doing some research, and was questioning the function of certian sites that appear to be link farms, but I doubt they are really linked to the sites they seem to be promoting.

These sites, or posts on the sites, typically list a multitude of links, but as I say, I doubt many of the sites they reference are involved in link farming.

I could post examples, but don't want you to think I am linking you to spam. But if you do a google search for greenwoodz and gun (greenwoodz gun) you will find several sites pop up, many n different languages, that are nothing but sites where people post and list numberous sites. The reason I don't think they are link farms is because some contain some respectable site links, along with the trash. They almost appear to be link directories, rather than link farms.

Could some one tell me, what is the function of such sites?