Been reported by spamcop to my ISP, but need some advice

dtb

Hi.

First let me say I am not an internet security expert by any means, I have a fairly *rough* of what's going on, but primarily I'm an electronics engineer that has been using and working on computer systems since the late 70's.

Last week my ISP ( without warning ) cut of my broadband ( UK ISP ). After a brief phone call I was put through to the abuse dept and told I had a botnet on my computer that was sending spam and until I reformatted my hardrive I would not be allowed on.

Note* My ISP is well known for requesting re-installs and will not accept any sort of protection offered by Anti-Virus programs even though they sing their praises and offer a years free subscription on one.

I was sent the Spamcop report which my ISP acts on 100% without question:

I noticed two things :

1) The HELO response was from a computer named ( for example ) A, my computer is named B

2) The date range given for the spamming period is when we were doing some building work on the house and no router/computer was connected to our phone line.

The IP address given in the report is that of my ISP, obviously my ISP claim I had use of that IP number during that period.( even though we had nothing connected to the phone line ).

Finally, the computer has been checked over by a third party experienced in internet security and no virus's have been found. I use three AV programs and the firewall is permanently on. I know that's no guarantee, but its as secure has I can practically get it. My ISP does not debate these issues.

This has happened a few times with other users. Can anyone offer any other reason how the spamming was tracked back to an IP I was not using to a computer name not on my Windows network.

Many thanks.