Character encoding issue

awaji

To set this up: I work as a translator and receive many messages with Japanese in the Subject Line, From Line and in the Body of a message.

When I use the webmail interface (when traveling), the character encoding seems to default to "Western," (I'm using Firefox on OS X but I don't think it's a browser problem on my end), and even if I change it to Japanese Shift-JIS or Japanese ISO-2022-JP, the Inbox list does not appear properly, nor does the body copy. I have to forward Japanese messages to my Yahoo Japan account and view them from there.

Is this is "feature" of the Spamcop webmail interface that can somehow be tweaked?

Regards.

Richard (awaji)

I don't recall this being brought up before .. so are there any "localization" settings under preferences to even pull something like this in?

I started at http://www.horde.org/horde/docs/?f=TRANSLATIONS.html but I can't actually tell from that if the point is to translate the Hode / IMP screens or the "handled" text ...

http://www.horde.org/faq/admin/config/index.php#c12 Para. 4.1.4 pretty much makes it clear that this is only for the Horde / IMP display stuff.

There's another reference about using foreign language word lists for spell-check, but I don't actually connect that bit to displaying alternate character sets. I actually didn't come across anything in the FAQ that seemed to even approach this issue.

I spent the time going through those support Forums looking for (and found) answers to some issues that were impacting me ... fed JT the data .. and problem solved. Is this enough of an issue that you'd want to spend the time looking to see if anyone else has brought this up to the HORDE/IMP developers?

I don't recall this being brought up before .. so are there any "localization" settings under preferences to even pull something like this in?