Jump to content

msg from spamcop appears to be spam?

Recommended Posts

ht tp://www.spamcop.net/mcgi - Sorry, all tests failed.

We cannot deliver mail to the address you provided: alexz[at]blhr.org. Double check the address provided or try again later. Your mailhost appears to be offline.

Detailed errors:

Connecting to mail.step-in.biz.:

smtpSend:smtpEnd: message transmission failed: 552 Sorry, this message appears to be spam (#5.6.0)

Sometimes, mailservers are temporarilly unavailable. If you believe you have entered your email address and other details correctly, you might just wait a few minutes (or 24 hours) and try again.

I sent a ticket to that host, from what I have found, their level of spam assasin is very low - 4, that is why, my wild guess is, it is rejecting mail from over here... what else I can do?!?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

As the link provided didn't actually go anywhere (due to only being a partial URL) I edited the starting post.

To my mind, this does not seem to be a Parsing/Reporting issue, guessing that it is in fact related to th MailHost Confoguration of a Reporting Account, so will be moving this Topic with this post.

There is no one 'here' that would have any idea/contol over your ISP's filter settings, and even the 'score of 4' can be generated many different ways. What is more likely is that a word filter is in use and it's triggering on seeing the word 'spam' ...???? Of course, based on so much spammer abuse of these 'new' Domain names, it's not that hard to conceive that step-in.biz may in fact have SpamCop.net specifically blocked ... no accusations, just years of previous experience showing here .....

Not said is whether you can whitelist any addresses. This and several other "lost, missing, bounced e-mail problems" are addressed in several FAQ entries found here.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

what is MORE strange to me - it worked for another mail at the same host! Mailhost name: blhr.org

Email address: hrlawye{_at }blhr.org


Relaying IPs: - I am not shure - should I paste the URL where I get that?!? http://www.spamcop.net/mcgi?action=mhedit;...hBtGlKbQd9jgZ4H - a little ammended - here it is... ;) 10x!

Mailhosts - it is from my session - I will find and post the header of the message which passed thru the test! :)

Here it is!

Return-Path: <service

Delivered-To: hrlawyer

Received: (qmail 28279 invoked by uid 399); 29 Nov 2006 12:38:17 -0000

Received: from localhost by pns.step-in.biz

with SpamAssassin (version 3.1.7);

Wed, 29 Nov 2006 14:38:18 +0200

From: SpamCop robot <mhconf.x[at]cmds.spamcop.net>

To: hrlawyer[at]blhr.org

Subject: *****spam***** [spamCop] account configuration email

Date: Wed, 29 Nov 2006 12:38:15 GMT

Message-Id: <wh456d7f37g104ba[at]msgid.spamcop.net>

X-spam-Flag: YES

X-spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 3.1.7 (2006-10-05) on pns.step-in.biz

X-spam-Level: ****

X-spam-Status: Yes, score=4.0 required=4.0 tests=FORGED MUA MOZILLA,

FROM LOCAL NOVOWEL autolearn=disabled version=3.1.7

MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="----------= 456D7F3A.D76C60F8"

------------= 456D7F3A.D76C60F8

Content-Type: text/plain

Content-Disposition: inline

Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit

spam detection software, running on the system "pns.step-in.biz", has

identified this incoming email as possible spam. The original message

has been attached to this so you can view it (if it isn't spam) or label

similar future email. If you have any questions, see

the administrator of that system for details.

Content preview: Hello SpamCop user, This email contains special codes

and tracking information to help SpamCop figure out your specific email

configuration. Do not post this email in public. It contains

confidential information related to the security of your SpamCop

account. [...]

Content analysis details: (4.0 points, 4.0 required)

pts rule name description

---- ---------------------- --------------------------------------------------

2.5 FROM LOCAL NOVOWEL From: localpart has series of non-vowel letters

1.5 FORGED MUA MOZILLA Forged mail pretending to be from Mozilla

NOD32 1888 (20061128) Information

This message was checked by NOD32 antivirus system.


Moderator EDIT: Removed secret code

Link to comment
Share on other sites

abv.bg' post='51665' date='Dec 3 2006, 04:03 AM']

a little ammended - here it is... ;) 10x!

Not amended quite enough. I found 2 copied of your secret code in that message and replaced them with x, but you should probably request a new code from deputies[at]spamcop.net just to be safe.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 9 years later...

As different ISPs change the parameters on their spam filters, this does happen.  Although I have not seen it in a while, the fact that the word 'spam'/spamcop is found in the header has in the past caused a message from SpamCop to be flagged.  The problem can easily be fixed if the ISP (Google) would white-list SpamCop.net.  That of course is between you and Google.  Not much SpamCop can do to fix this.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...