Reported Spam does not seem to be registered

rcrd2111

Hi, I'm new to the Spamcop email service. I've noticed that even though I "report as spam" those emails that are obviously spam (by clicking on the appropriate button in webmail), when I check on the SC site a day or so later to see if the address is listed, many of them don't seem to be there. I know that there is a 24-hour repeat-spam rule but I would have thought that after just a day they should be there? Or am I misreading something?

I know that there is a 24-hour repeat-spam rule but I would have thought that after just a day they should be there? Or am I misreading something?

I have no idea what your "24 hour repeat-spam rule" is .....

The 'misreading' actually sounds more like 'not-reading' .... try the FAQ/Wiki to see "What is on the Blocking List" for starters ....

Thanks Wazoo... I found this on the Wiki site..

The SCBL will not list an IP address with only one report filed.

With only two reports against an IP address, the SCBL will list the IP address for a maximum of 12 hours after the most recent reported mail was sent.

The SCBL will not list an IP address if there are no reports against it within 24 hours.

So I guess that my reports were the first/early ones for those addresses. The newness will wear off! :)

Thanks Wazoo... I found this on the Wiki site..

So I guess that my reports were the first/early ones for those addresses. The newness will wear off! :)

Somewhere in there it should also mention that a listing depends on the reports being a certain pecentage of the messages coming out of a machine and that a single reporter can not get an IP listed (I believe those are both still valid).

I have no idea what your "24 hour repeat-spam rule" is .....

The 'misreading' actually sounds more like 'not-reading' .... try the FAQ/Wiki to see "What is on the Blocking List" for starters ....