Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Recent Profile Visitors

2,618 profile views

C2H5OH's Achievements

Advanced Member

Advanced Member (3/6)



  1. Thanks for that, I couldn't recall whether SC sanitised the message body too. I suppose I must have been lucky up 'til now; the scum have not used my domain name in their messages...
  2. Received today a couple of UCE/spam - identical content apart from the sender's name. Typical content is, Hi, My name is Tom Roberts and I am a website designer specialist. I'm looking at your current website: www.xxxx.com and I'm wondering if you've thought about updating? - Goes on to explain the services on offer. I do not want to update my site - especially as I'm assuming the next request will be to forward my site's FTP details to the "helpful" website designer specialist. My concern is that Spamcop did not blank my website address. It's the same domain as my email address, and Spamcop is usually good at recognising that string and x-ing it. I've reported the UCEs via Spamcop, but had to manually deselect sending reports to my website hosting company. I'd post a report id here, but won't because the message body includes the plain text domain name.... Should I expect Spamcop to anonymise my domain name if it appears in the body of the spammer's email?
  3. Okay, so yesterday's spam duly arrived. This time it parsed and reported normally. https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6689197903z2d490751dc72f6177eeed2ee9a0a1629z Let's see what today brings...
  4. https://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z6689032327z78567ccc8eaf15598cc4e69ae8ef9d36z For the past few weeks I've been receiving a couple of spams a day to my Hotmail account. All have a "PDF" payload attachment (usually with a nonsense name) and all come from garbagename(AT)hotmail.com. I've reported them all, with spamcop sending reports to danorm(AT)hotmail.com. Today's second arrival followed exactly the same format, except that spamcop wouldn't report it (to danorm or anyone else). Tracking link above shows the result of my attempt. Doubtlessly tomorrow I'll have another couple to report, so I'll discover whether this was a one-off, or the new-normal. Has anyone else here suddenly been receiving spam from garbage hotmail accounts lately?
  5. Abuse contact for ' -' is 'abuse[at]makut.investments' spamcop is using abuse[at]hostslick.de
  6. C2H5OH

    no TLS?

    For information; Firefox now warns whenever I try to go to forum pages. "Websites prove their identity via certificates. Firefox does not trust this site because it uses a certificate that is not valid for forum.spamcop.net. The certificate is only valid for the following names: cloudfront.net, *.cloudfront.net Error code: SSL_ERROR_BAD_CERT_DOMAIN" - Clicking through the warnings and proceeding regardless will open the forum pages.
  7. Such a high level of reports to a spammer's ISP might generate a high level of bounces. We know that spamcop won't keep sending reports that are bound to bounce (and only waste more email bandwidth). Maybe that's the reason for a high submitted:sent ratio?
  8. I'm now seeing; Abuse contact for ' -' is 'hostmaster@nic.ad.jp'
  9. SpamCop is reporting to abuse[at]atjeu.com (actually devnulling as that abuse address has bounced 99 of 99 reports). ARIN advises abuse address for is abuse[at]newtekone.com
  10. Abuse contact for ' -' is 'abuse[at]vtc.ru'
  11. Abuse contact for ' -' is 'abuse[at]eyona.com'
  12. SpamCop is reporting abuse from to eduardop[at]durand.com.br. Cert.br requests that mail abuse issues should also be addressed to mail-abuse[at]cert.br
  13. Abuse contact for ' -' is 'abuse[at]godaddy.com' (SpamCop resolves address to apnic)
  14. SpamCop is using abuse[at]activecampaign.com for but reports "bounces (99 sent : 99 bounces)" then uses abuse#activecampaign.com[at]devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking. ARIN WHOIS data for provides abuse address aburch[at]activecampaign.com
  15. RadicalDad is using the web form to report, so the Outlook forwarding problem isn't the culprit in this case. Maybe a re-learn of Mailhosts might fix this. Is it possible the OP's mail/Internet provider has added new servers and routes?
  • Create New...