MailWasher & Spamcop

jazzmaster

I've been using Spamcop for a couple of years. I was always under the impression that my reporting the spam would actually help in getting rid of some of the spammers. I started using Mailwasher about a year ago. For those who may not be familar with Mailwasher, it will allow you to delete the spam from your mail server and, if desired, will send a bounced message to the spammer's return address (even though most spammers use bogus addresses). It also will create a blacklist of email address to automatically mark as a spammer address as you mark, delete and bounce these spam messages. I have noticed lately that I keep getting spam from the same addresses, according to Mailwasher's blacklist. I report every single spam I receive in the hopes that someone will actually read the reprts generated by spamcop. Has something been changed in the reporting or are the ISPs ignoring these reports? I've never known an ISP whose standard TOA didn't specifically and strictly prohibit UCE.

Any thoughts?

Jazzmaster

It is usually difficult to impossible to distinguish between ISPs whose abuse desks:

• are woefully understaffed/overworked
  • are actually bitbuckets (the mail is never read by a human or is usually discarded)
  • have their hands tied behind their backs by legal and/or sales departments
  • think that forwarding the reports to the spammer for listwashing is appropriate "handling"

The best abuse desks consistently take SpamCop reports seriously, investigate, don't permit listwashing, get their customers secured and/or boot their customers, follow up with reporters, and apologize (all because they actually care about stopping spam). Whenever I get a response from such an abuse desk (every few months), I respond with thanks.