Wondering what bounces caused my svr to be listed here?

guido90210

Hi there,

One of my organisation's two MXes (203.2.32.108) has been listed in the SpamCop blacklist today, apparently for sending misdirected bounces, according to the lookup tool on the SpamCop website.

It's true - that server does send bounced email. It sends bounced email for unknown recipients, and for over-quota local users. We also use vacation messages. I don't yet have recipient whitelisting set up on our MXes, and don't use SPF or DKIM. I'd like to do these things, but I'm a Unix administrator, and email administrator is one of the many hats that I wear. Anyway...

I'd like to know if it's possible to find out exactly which bounces are causing me to get into the SCBL? Is there a web-based interface to do this? Also, can I find out if there are any user reports that have been lodged for this box?

Finally, a bit off-topic, but what measures would the gentle readers suggest for reducing bounces, other than recipient whitelisting, SPF and DKIM?

Thanks in advance,

G.

One of my organisation's two MXes (203.2.32.108) has been listed in the SpamCop blacklist today, apparently for sending misdirected bounces, according to the lookup tool on the SpamCop website.

http://spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=203.2.32.108

203.2.32.108 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 0 hours.

Causes of listing

System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)

It appears this listing is caused by misdirected bounces. We have a FAQ which covers this topic: Why auto-responses are bad (Misdirected bounces). Please read this FAQ and heed the advice contained in it

Listing History

System has been listed for less than 24 hours.

http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...ng=203.2.32.108