Blocked Email Logging

Denis1982

Hi,

Im new to Spamcop and block lists in general. What I want to know is how do I know which emails have been blocked by spamcop. Is there a Log for this.

The only thing that I have done on the Exchange Server is add the bl.spamcop.net url under connection filtering.

There has been a noticeable decrease in the amount of spam but I am uncomfortable about not knowing which emails are being blocked. So again, is there any way to monitor the emails being rejected by Spamcop.

Thanks.

...There has been a noticeable decrease in the amount of spam but I am uncomfortable about not knowing which emails are being blocked. So again, is there any way to monitor the emails being rejected by Spamcop.
Yes, it is *dangerous* to simply reject - SC recommends filtering (with subsequent access and recovery available) per http://www.spamcop.net/fom-serve/cache/291.html No filter is 100% false-positive free, no matter what some say, and the SCbl in particular blocks "bad" ISP addresses which may/often do include "good" senders. So it is more liable than some to have false positives in the general scheme of things - practical considerations are another matter.

Hopefully an Exchange user can give you any specific detail you need. What version are you using?

[Moved from Reporting Help - this forum includes help with the use of the SCbl]

No filter is 100% false-positive free, no matter what some say, and the SCbl in particular blocks "bad" ISP addresses which may/often do include "good" senders.
I can testify personally to that, in that I've seen some false positives recently involving messages sent by customers of Cox cable....including me. The IPs getting listed are Cox mail servers, rather than the actual source IPs of individual compromised machines. Don't simply make messages disappear due to SCBL hits....make sure they get put someone that a human can review them.

DT