Jump to content

My work email just started being bounced by SpamCop


Recommended Posts

I have been using this email address and the same ISP for over a year and a half. I have never had any issues with bounce back emails until about 3-4 months ago. I started to receive bounce backs when ever I would send an email to a person at a company that I email back and forth from many times daily. The emails all said the following in the txt file that is attached to the bounce back.

Here is one that was received earlier today 09/11/2012:

Reporting-MTA: dns; dsmdc-mail-omta-03 [*IP Address Removed*]

Received-From-MTA: dns; MailFlex1 [*IP Address Removed*]

Arrival-Date: Tue, 11 Sep 2012 08:59:36 -0500

Final-recipient: rfc822; *email address removed*

Action: failed

Status: 5.1.1

Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550 SpamCop Block List - see http://www.spamcop.net/

Last-attempt-Date: Tue, 11 Sep 2012 08:59:39 -0500

I have contacted our ISP 4 times and they always say they will create a job ticket and then for the next week or so I do not have any other issues. Then out of no where, I will start to receive bounce backs again. This issue originally started with just 1 email destination giving the bounce back to just me. However, now the bounce backs are coming from multiple email destinations and some of my co-workers are also getting the bounce backs.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to why I am getting these bounce backs or how to get this issue resolved permanently? Also, please understand that I have installed and ran 4 different Anti Virus programs and all of them came back clean.

Thank you in advance.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

[*IP Address Removed*] is sending spam to our users and/or to our system and has been placed on our list of known spam sources.

Our clients mostly will not accept email from servers on our list.

If you will email me a complete copy of the rejection email you're getting, I can probably explain.

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -

- Service[at]Admin.SpamCop.net -


Link to comment
Share on other sites

When the O/P follows up on Don's kind offer (and Don will no doubt confirm the abuse address to which any SC reports may have gone), it might be an idea for the O/P to also feed that mail-sending IP address into robtex (http://www.robtex.com/) and see who else, if anyone, is sharing it according to DNS records - also feed it into SenderBase to look at the traffic through it (http://www.senderbase.org/). Such checks can sometimes be enlightening and/or reassuring if there is concern about the origin of any spam from the IP.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...