Forwarding vs. POPing

Hello,

I am a newbie to SpamCop e-mail, but I have been reporting spam for many years.

In setting up my account and browsing through the various Options, I noticed under Options->Mail Management->SpamCop Tools, a feature called "Forwarding." Since my ISP is now forwarding my e-mail to SpamCop and I am POPing it back to Outlook Express ("OE"), it seems instead of POPing, I could just forward my e-mail back to my ISP's mail server after it is filtered by SpamCop (and I could still take advantage of SpamCop's reporting features) by using the Forward feature on SpamCop. spam Cop's e-mail client in many ways seems superior to OE, but many things about it are not intuitive, and at this point in my life, I don't want to take the time to learn how to work it properly.

Am I missing something? Is there a difference between "re-Forwarding" my filtered mail back to my ISP's mail server on the one hand, and POPing it to OE from SpamCop's mail server on the other?

Thanks for taking the time to help me out.

Please do not forward or POP back to the same address (account) that is forwarding to spamcop, or you will create a loop and loose email (perhaps this explains your other post).

Pre-filtering options:

a. You can use your ISP's email address and have ISP forward to spamcop for filtering.

b. You can use your ISP's email address and have spamcop POP from your ISP account for filtering.

c. You can use your spamcop email address (not reporting address) for filtering.

d. You can use a third party forwarding service which gives you a permanent address and forward that to spamcop.

Post-filtering options:

a. You can POP directly from spamcop your filtered email either with a client on your local machine or from some ISP's (different account than a and b above, some ISP's allow multiple accounts).

b. You can have spamcop forward your filtered email to an ISP account (different account than a and b above).